Skip to main content

© All rights reserved. Powered by

Peculiar Missouri Sign

Peculiar distinguished as a Community for All Ages

By Raymore Journal staff

April 21, 2022

The City of Peculiar is now a member of a select group of cities in the Kansas City metro area recognized for their efforts to be accommodating to all ages.

During a First Suburbs Coalition meeting held on April 15, Peculiar was accepted as a Silver Level status Community for All Ages. Earlier this year, Excelsior Springs, Grain Valley and Merriam were also recognized as Communities for All Ages.

The Communities for All Ages program was developed by the First Suburbs Coalition and KC Communities for All Ages — two groups convened by The Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) to develop programs and tools to support first-tier suburbs, help communities respond to a rapid increase in the older adult population, and make communities more welcoming to all age groups. The program is available to all jurisdictions in the nine-county MARC region.

“The city of Peculiar is honored to receive the Silver Level designation,” said Peculiar City Administrator Mickey Ary in a statement “The city is striving to make Peculiar a welcoming place for all ages. This award shows the commitment of the city to the older residents of Peculiar.”

Since the program’s inception, 19 local jurisdictions have been recognized for working to make their communities more age friendly. Previous awards have gone to Excelsior Springs, Grandview, Gladstone, Independence, Kearney, Lee’s Summit, Mission, North Kansas City, Raymore and Roeland Park (gold); Grain Valley and Liberty (silver); and Blue Springs, Johnson County, Merriam, Olathe, Parkville and Raytown (bronze).

The program’s three sequential levels of achievement reflect increasing degrees of commitment to becoming a Community for All Ages. The Bronze Level recognizes heightened awareness of the issues and requires a resolution or commitment by the city’s elected body, along with community presentations and public engagement.

Silver Level adds the completion of an assessment process and requires the community to appoint a resident-based committee to assess related city activities and investments.

Gold, the highest level, recognizes communities that formally adopt a Community for All Ages plan based on the assessment completed at the Silver Level. Communities can maintain their recognition status by advancing to higher levels or, once the Gold Level is achieved, continuing to implement new elements of their plans. The program encourages communities to respond positively to changing demographics and adopt policy and program approaches that make the region a great place to live and age well.

More information about the recognition program is available online at